Skip to content

Morning after

May 24. 2010

Good morning hotties!

Just to get this one out of the way, I openly admit I am still reeling in the aftermath of Lost.  I know plenty of people don’t watch this show, and I know even more people who watch the show will not be satisfied with the way it ended, but for the past six years, Lost has appealed to all of the literary sensibilities in me and although I’m still processing everything, I’m happy to say I believe it was worth it.

Confession: I don’t even have a TV in my house, but I make room in my life for that show.  And now it’s over.

It’s a strange thing to look back at the course of a television show and not only see where the show has gone, but where you’ve gone with it.  How much has changed over the past six years.  How, when my roommate my freshman year of college sat me down and made me watch my first episode of Lost, was I supposed to know that I had actually just seen the first episode of something I would become so mentally and emotionally invested in?  I had no idea.

(I have to admit, in the last fifteen minutes of the episode, I was sitting in lotus position with my palms open to the sky, receptive to what was coming.  Yes.  I am THAT MUCH of a geek.)

And now I have a buttload of writing to finish!  It’s finals week right now.  By tomorrow at midnight I hope to have completed writing a total of at least 75 pages spread over five different papers.  I’m soooo close.  So sorry my content as of late has been, well, less than exciting, but I promise once I’m done with finals Hottie will be back to tell you about being Hot.  Because I’d rather talk about that.

Here’s some Music Monday for ya’ll!  This is one of my yoga/warm up playlists – it always makes me want to move and open up.


Everybody, celebrate the return of Gaga to my weekly playlist.  Hah.  Also, look fast, you’ll catch my favorite song from the Broadway musical rendition of The Lion King.  We used to warm up to “He Lives In You” in my dance class in high school.  It always makes me smile for that reason.

With yoga in mind, I am setting an intention, not just for today, but for my week: Openness and availability to receive what the universe has to offer.

I’m not usually the type of personality to set an intention or goal but this seems like the right kind of week for it.  And hey, just because I don’t “usually” do something, doesn’t mean I can’t try it.

But seriously.  How am I supposed to concentrate on my papers when I have LOST on the brain?  And what am I supposed to do now?  Haha I have no TV shows I like!  What TV shows to you watch? Are you more into mindless television (reality TV, etc) or do you like shows that make you think?  When I used to have a TV I would watch anything and everything – Law and Order, Food Network, America’s Next Top Model, MTV shows, prime time dramas and sitcoms … Now when I go somewhere that has a TV it feels almost foreign to me!  I’m so unaccustomed to sitting in front of a TV just watching a show, I always feel really unproductive.  It’s so weird, especially since I used to love lovelovelove TV.

Anyway, being the morning after, I’m feeling like I need a little bit of catharsis and detox.  Therefore, I forewent my usual morning oatmral (which they totally eat on Lost) and instead went for a smoothie which I  an claim draws on thematic food elements from Lost.

Green monster, not Smoke Monster

Post-Lost Green Monster

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 mango
  • 2 large leaves swiss chard
  • peanut butter!!
  • almond milk
  • cinnamon

Ok.  I’m officially just writing to procrastinate.  Off to … write some more.

Have a fabbity fab week, babies!  I’ll be back soon!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24. 2010 9.52 am

    I go through phases where I watch lots of tv and then phases where I don’t even go in my tv room! I watch Glee, Castle, The Hills, Britain’s Got Talent, American Idol, random music documentaries and lots of movies. Good luck with getting all your writing done!

    • May 24. 2010 9.53 am

      Oh I love Glee!! That’s the other one I obsess over.

  2. May 24. 2010 12.17 pm

    love your playlist. mine mostly consists of BEp and Glee and some Beyonce thrown in there 🙂

    I watch Bones, Glee, Grey’s, Mercy, RHONY, and NCIS 🙂

    • May 25. 2010 12.09 am

      Glee is DEFINITELY on my biking playlist! So good!!

  3. May 24. 2010 12.24 pm

    I always have one or two shows that I’m obsessed with, but I’m not one of those people that has to watch every popular show on TV. It progressed from Dawson’s Creek, to Gilmore Girls, to The OC, to Gossip Girl…I love them all! Hope you have a great day girl, good luck with those finals!

    • May 25. 2010 12.09 am

      That is such a natural progression 🙂 I miss Gilmore Girls so much!

  4. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 24. 2010 4.08 pm

    I’m so glad you don’t have a TV. I hate having one at all. I never watch but my roommate and her bf do sometimes. It drives me mad when I go home and my dad has it on in the kitchen constantly

    I love the Monday music, but must say I cannot tolerate Lady GaGa (she’s gotten too weird for me)

    • May 25. 2010 12.09 am

      And I, conversely, am obsessseddd with Gaga but I know, she is SO weird.

  5. May 24. 2010 10.21 pm

    Lost. I never once watched it. No loss for me. haha. i am so funny. right. NOT! 🙂

    have a great night hon!

  6. May 24. 2010 10.49 pm

    I used to watch everything as well. Now there are only a couple of shows that I really try to get in, but I only watch them socially or if I am on the stationary bike-basically if I am being productive in another way. Love that smoothie concoction there, Miss.

  7. May 25. 2010 1.26 am

    Yum to the GM!!! 😀

    Lost? Honestly, I started watching that show when it first came out – and LOVED it! Then as time passed, I got really frustrated with all the flashbacks and just decided it wasn’t for me.

    I love Biggest Loser, though! I know it’s a controversial show but I find great inspiration in watching folks melt away – not just pounds, but layers and layers of emotions – and transforming in to new creations. It’s so amazing to me.

    And, of course, I know how they feel ’cause I’ve lost over 100 pounds! hehe 😉

    Hugs,
    Michele

    • May 26. 2010 5.49 pm

      I’ve never seen Biggest Loser but I can see how it is probably a great inspiration! I love shows that tap into honest emotion.

  8. May 25. 2010 11.58 am

    I’ve never seen Lost! Everyone tells me I have to watch it, but I feel like I need to see it from the beginning to get the full effect, no?

    I don’t watch a lot of TV either, only when I want to distract myself from my crazy life and can’t focus to do anything more productive. Grey’s Anatomy is usually witty and has good writing…usually. I can’t stand reality TV but I sometimes get sucked into watching it with my friends or my sister (my sister is obsessed with the Bachelor/Bachelorette). I will never ever watch The Hills though. It makes me queasy.
    Good luck with your papers!

  9. May 25. 2010 5.47 pm

    A lot of people whose TV opinions I respect watch Lost but I just… can’t do it.

    And I really don’t have a show I obsess over. I catch up on (when I can): House, The Office, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, and Top Chef. Oh and Grey’s Anatomy, which is for sure my guilty guilty guilty pleasure.

    I am legit obsessed with Mad Men (I’ve Netflix’d the first two seasons and the third is waiting in my basement as we speak!) but unfortunately (fortunately for my social life?) it’s not on right now.

  10. May 26. 2010 4.58 pm

    I’ve finally watched Lost! I didn’t mind the ending, it was some what fitting I think, weirdness and randomness till the very end. I did shed a few tears, it was so lovely that they all found each other in the end, sob!
    x

Leave a Reply

