Skip to content

Little Choices

May 2. 2010

This morning, I woke up seriously pissed off that my mom woke me ten minutes before my alarm.

I am not a morning person by any stretch of the imagination.

I grumbled, pulled the blanket back over my head, and squeezed my eyes shut for the next ten minutes.  When the alarm went off, I sat up, shook my head, and decided to pretend it never happened.  Instead, today, I decided I would do things to make myself happy.

For instance, there was no earthly reason why I should have been stomping around my house in five inch wooden platform heels at 9:35 am, checking my eyeliner in the mirror one last time before grabbing my notebook and rushing out the door.  My internship is incredibly relaxed in the attire department, and though I try to look professional and neat, five inch heels are generally neither.

For the past year, I’ve been interning for a local Jewish high school educational initiative.  Today was the last session for the school year, and the “graduation” for the seniors, so I wanted to look nice, and honestly, the eighty degree weather made me want to wear a dress.

The dress was appropriated from my Hot Momma’s closet, and I love it so I wish I had a better picture of it, but whatever.  Here are the beastly shoes:

The picture doesn’t do the five-inch heel justice, but damn it was nice to feel tall for once.  I’m 5’2, and for the first time I was on eye level with many of my students.  It rocked.  These shoes are practical in no way whatsoever, but I absolutely fell in love with them the first time I set eyes on them, and I just love wearing them.  They are surprisingly comfortable and I walked around in them all morning and afternoon with no problem.  They made me happy, so that’s why I wore them!

This afternoon I decided to make sangria.  I’ve never ever made sangria before, but I figured a quick visit to the Queen of the Universe would help me figure out what to do.  I wanted to create a recipe that was refreshing, not too sweet, and light even though I was using red wine, and I’m pretty happy with what I came up with.

Sparkling Red Wine Sangria

  • 2 plums, pitted and sliced thin
  • 1 Gala apple, cored and sliced thin
  • 2 oranges, one sliced (which I peeled before slicing but you don’t have to), the other juiced
  • 4 blackberries, cut into quarters
  • 1/4 cup Grand Mariner
  • 1 bottle of red wine, chilled (I used cabernet sauvignon)
  • 1 bottle of sparkling water

In the bottom of a large pitcher, layer sliced orange, plum, apple, and blackberries.  Cover with Grand Mariner and let sit at room temperature for at least 1 hour to allow the fruit to macerate.

After at least an hour, or when ready to serve, pour the entire bottle of wine and the juice of one orange over the macerated fruit.

When ready to serve, pour a glass half-full of sangria, making sure to add some fruit from the pitcher into the glass.  Fill the rest of your glass with sparkling water, and enjoy.

I’m amazed that I took time out of my day to make an alcoholic beverage, because to tell you the truth, this hottie isn’t much of a drinker.  Once upon a time, I was a professional sorority girl. but those days are long behind me, and if I do drink, it’s one drink and maybe a few sips of another, once every few months or so at a party.  But the mood really hit hard because of the beautiful summery weather, so once I got the idea in my head, I couldn’t do anything but satisfy my craving.  And speaking of being a professional sorority girl, making sangria is kind of like making a grown up jungle juice, so I think this is a new favorite around here.

While I waited for my fruit to macerate, I did a little “challenge” that Gina posted on Twitter early today.  It was nice to know that I am capable of doing all these “standard” exercises even though I’m mostly a Pilates girl.  My hammies complained quite a bit to doing lunges after a 5-hour stint in sky-high heels, but they got over it.  I realized I have way too much laundry to do when I reached for something to wear to work out and pulled out these leggings:

I don’t know what’s worse, the fact that I’ve actually worn these in public, or the fact that now I’m shamelessly wearing them in public on the internet.

Anyway, when I was done working out, my sangria was ready to drink!  It’s the perfect finish to a fantastic dinner composed of green grapes and a gargantuan salad made of romaine, spinach, beets, orange bell pepper, broccoli, green beans, and a dressing of tehina, mustard, lemon juice, and maple (my current fave)!  PS- in my head I kept calling this salad a hugh jass and considered it an homage to Mama Pea in honor of her birthday.  I’ve never made a salad I believe wualifies as hugh jass before, so this was exciting.

What a beautiful day.  Now I’m sitting here sipping some sangria and blogging, because it makes me happy.

And that’s truly what matters – choosing to do the things that make you happiest.

What did you do today that makes you happy?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2. 2010 8.24 pm

    I’ve only had bottled sangria! This would be a great recipe for summer for sure! I wish it was that hot up here.. it’s cold and rainy today!! boo…

  2. May 2. 2010 9.05 pm

    LOVE the shoes. great taste 😉 and your tights too. lol. my bf would never let me buy something like that even though its something i love…

  3. *Andrea* permalink
    May 2. 2010 11.41 pm

    loveeeee sangria! definitely getting some on wednesday for cinco de mayo along with a giant taco salad 🙂

    • May 3. 2010 12.06 am

      Hello you are a genius. Sangria for Cinco de Mayo!

  4. *Andrea* permalink
    May 2. 2010 11.43 pm

    ps cute dress!

  5. May 3. 2010 6.38 am

    LOVE THOSE SHOES. Sometimes it’s nice to feel like a total sexpot girly girl, even if it is totally impractical 🙂 You look gorge!! And you have me craving sangria yet again…that stuff looks absolutely delish!!

    Hope you have a great Monday love!!

  6. lowandbhold permalink
    May 3. 2010 9.54 am

    Love those shoes! I’m 5’2″ also, so heals are great!

  7. May 3. 2010 10.08 am

    oooo sangria! such a delicious summertime drink! brings back SO many memories!

  8. May 3. 2010 1.20 pm

    Um, I have some ancient two buck chuck red wine on my counter and now I know how I’m gonna revive it. Sweet.
    You look way cute for work. My internship in Boston was way flexible with the dress codel so I wore… jeans. I am just not a healthy happy hottie like you!

    • May 3. 2010 2.06 pm

      1- DO ITTTTT. I cant wait to get home from babysitting/Pilates tonight to drink the rest of it. i mean. Some of it.
      2- Yes you are a hottie! And yes I did look wayy too cute for work haha.

  9. May 4. 2010 2.48 am

    you look lovely 😀 xx jealous about the weather your getting hehe the uk is cold!

    xx peony

    • May 4. 2010 8.14 am

      welcome to my blog! I’M jealous you’re in the UK!!

  10. May 8. 2010 11.08 am

    cute leggins 😉

    • May 8. 2010 9.33 pm

      thanks! i’ve been rockin them round the house…in private where no one can see me

Leave a Reply

