Skip to content

Welcome!

April 28. 2010

Hey hey party people!  I’m Ilana, the Happy Healthy Hottie!

In a nutshell, I am a chocoholic New York City-dwelling twenty-something shoe addict and cat-lady-in-training with deep passionate emotions for Pilates, great books, Lady Gaga, and traveling.  I nourish my body with tons of fruits, veggies, chocolate, and grains and usually drink way too much coffee. Over the summer, I will be completing certification as a Pilates instructor, and in the fall I will begin my studies towards a degree in nutrition!  These paths are both new paths that have opened up for me ever since I decided to take an active role in creating a happier, healthier, more whole “me.”

I started this blog (hereon in referred to as Triple-H, 3H, or H3 depending on how annoying I am) because I definitely haven’t always been happy OR healthy.  For as long as I can remember, I have struggled with depression, anxiety, and distorted self-image.  For as long as I can remember, I also truly believed that there was nothing I could do to change myself, that my continual cycle of negative emotion was a lifelong condition from which I would never be free.  Depression is both painful and alienating; in my life I have sensed a social stigma associated with depression.  It always felt somehow taboo or otherwise unacceptable to share with others what I was feeling.  One day, I decided I couldn’t take it anymore: I was ultimately nonfunctional, I didn’t know how to take care of myself even though I was quickly becoming an adult, and I couldn’t allow the cycle to continue.  I decided to take an active hand in making my life a positive one.  Through healthy eating and fitness, and immersing myself in the things that make me happy while working to eliminate stressors in my life, I think I have set myself on a path towards lifelong happiness and health, which even just last year felt like a feat beyond my capability.  Since I began this journey, I finally feel like I am becoming a person I am satisfied with, and I want to help others find their way out of the darkness as well, because it isn’t impossible.  I want to share my story with the world as well as connect and share inspiration with others on their journey towards better health and happiness.

Disclaimer: The ideas presented here are my opinions strictly, based on personal experience.  I am not a doctor, nor therapist, nor nutritionist.  The ideas presented here are not intended to substitute a doctor’s advice.  If you are in an crisis situation, please seek help.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29. 2010 4.28 pm

    Congrats on the blog!! LOve the name!! love love love!! You are a happy healthy hottie!! 🙂

    Fabulous!

  2. *Andrea* permalink
    April 29. 2010 4.31 pm

    love the new blog!!! although i just read/comment, i have felt the enormous support here too! it’s helped me develop a better relationship with myself and my food/exercise choices. congrats on truly finding your passion 😀

    • April 29. 2010 4.37 pm

      It’s amazing how just being able to talk to other people helps so much, right? I hope I can help offer you more support and we can keep sharing inspiration! Thank you for YOUR support!!

  3. April 29. 2010 4.52 pm

    you’re truly an amazing person! im glad you’re back with even more to offer and im just so happy for you and proud of you 😀

  4. April 29. 2010 5.07 pm

    Hi there! Grats on the new blog… great way to keep in touch, rant, and explore… I suppose ;-p

    • April 29. 2010 5.13 pm

      Thanks Beth! I am sure I’ll be writing (ranting?) about my Pilates training in the coming months!!

  5. April 29. 2010 9.32 pm

    Love this!! Congrats on conquering all those struggles- I’ve dealt with a lot of the same issues, and I know how rough it can be. I can’t wait to hear about your Pilates training and nutrition studies!!

    • April 29. 2010 10.02 pm

      Thanks Gab! I miss you – I’m sooo MIA, gotta hit up your blog ASAP. Good luck with finals!!

  6. April 29. 2010 9.36 pm

    Love the new blog! I look forward to reading about your Pilates and Nutrition studies!

    • April 29. 2010 10.02 pm

      Thanks you so much for all of your support! It means so much ❤

  7. Lyss permalink
    April 29. 2010 11.39 pm

    LOVE THIS LOVE YOU LOVE GAGA WEEEE

Leave a Reply

