Skip to content

Freeze!

May 27. 2010

Hola Hotties!

I don’t know about where you are but it is HOT in New York!  Yesterday it hit the nineties!  Yikes!  I love the heat and all so I wasn’t really complaining but when it gets this hot all I want is water, water, water, and fruit, fruit, fruit.  Ultimate: Watermelon.  Fact: At my third birthday, I ate an entire watermelon.  I am a Watermelon Monster.  But alas, I have none right now because that would require a car OR me carrying a watermelon seven city blocks, and while I love Dirty Dancing, I’m scared to carry watermelons further than up my driveway.

Anyway, in lieu of icy cold pink watermelon I’ve been making a lot of smoothies and other frozen things.  I whipped this one up yesterday morning and and I’m still dreaming of it.

I hate that this photo is so dark…but these ingredients make one delicious breakfast

Epic Antioxidant Blast Smoothie

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 mango, diced
  • 1/2 cup cherries (I pitted fresh ones because that’s all I had.  I recommend you use frozen)
  • 2 stalks swiss chard
  • 1/2 cup pomegranate juice
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

All in a blender, until smooth!

in an empty jar – I save all my glass jars

This is such a GORGEOUS red smoothie – even the brown and green ingredients don’t hide the color.  And it tastes phenomenal.  Tart fruit and chocolate.  My two favorite things.  Amazing.

But no, I didn’t stop there.  It has recently come to the attention of the children I babysit for that I am a lactose-intolerant vegetarian (that’s what they keep calling me – it’s hysterical).  Yesterday as I was scooping up some ice cream for those two adorable but overheating children, the nine year old boy I babysit for sweetly told me he feels sorry for me because I can’t have ice cream.

Oh yeah?  I’ll show him.

I was considering running out to the ol’ health food store and picking up a cardon of So Delicious ice cream in some amazing flavor, but instead I decided to put my newly-burgeoning knowledge of raw techniques to the test and whip up some frozen sweet treats in my own kitchen.

Into the trusty ol’ Magic Bullet:

  • 1 banana
  • 2-3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2-3 tbsp almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla, I prefer unsweetened unflavored)
  • 20-30 drops vanilla stevia/1 tbsp vanilla extract+2tbsp agave
  • 1 1/2 tsp mint extract

I poured this goodness into little paper cups – I knew my jello-shot making skillz would come in handy for real-life purposes one day.

Oh, but I can’t just stop there sweeties.  No no.  Mint chocolate ice cream obviously requires some more chocolate.  So I decided to concoct a chocolate coating to compliment my little ice cream cups.  I based it off of Katie’s chocolate butter and Averie’s coconut oil chocolate.  I’m amazed at how simple this is but at the same time I realize I shouldn’t be.  I mean, check your cocoa powder box.  It flat out says “3tbsp powder+1 tbsp oil=1 square baking chocolate.”  No brainer people!  If you haven’t tried this you really should!!  It’s turned into my go-to for my healthy chocolate fix.

  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil (it was so hot in my kitchen that my coconut oil is LIQUID!)
  • stevia/agave to taste
  • 3-4 (or more) tbsp water, to thin

In a bowl I whisked together all the above ingredients and just kept adding water until it reached a consistency I found thin enough to spread but thick enough to properly coat the ice cream.  Of course, I used hot water to thin the mixture so suddenly the logistics of covering cold ice cream treats with hot chocolate seemed a little daunting, so I just frosted the top of each little cup with the chocolate and stuck it back in the freezer to set.

Aaand…here’s a picture of a half-eaten one:

I might be a hottie but I gotta stay cool, yo!  (Katie, I’d love to share some with you!)

I think my Magic Bullet is about ready to jump ship, by the way.  I don’t have a blender, and my food processor committed suicide a few months ago, so the Bullet has been getting a LOT of play lately (no comments please).  Everyone, cross your fingers that the Vitamix Fairy just drops one into my kitchen magically.  Thanks.

I’m loving everyone’s wonderful comments on my post about living too fast and wanting to slow down!  It’s definitely nice to know I’m not alone in feeling like the world is rushing by and I need to rush to catch up too.  Maybe if we all take a few moments to slow down, the world itself would stop seeming so fast.

What are your favorite hot-weather treats? Fruits, frozen things, whatever?  I want to spend my time this summer whipping up homemade versions of commercial favorites, so let me know what your faves are!

Later babies.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27. 2010 3.49 pm

    Watermelon sounds so good right now. I never buy it though because I hate cutting it up. How lazy is that?!

    • May 27. 2010 3.52 pm

      OMG I am always way too lazy to cut the watermelon too! I usually just hack it in half and use an ice cream scoop to scoop it all into little balls. It works for me!!

  2. May 27. 2010 3.55 pm

    Ok, you have chocolate AND you are in New York?! How is that fair? You’re keeping all the good stuff for yourself.

    Wait, I should change that up a bit: New York gets chocolate AND you?!
    NY is the lucky one, to be graced with two awesome presences :).

    P.S. I’m coming to NYC this summer for real. Think you’ll have any chocolate left? I’d love to meet up (even if you don’t lol).
    You are the coolest (stay that way… even in the heat!)

    • May 27. 2010 3.57 pm

      Katie!!! We are DEFINITELY going to meet up when you come to New York! 100%!! And I always have chocolate. Always. So no worries about that! When are you coming?!

  3. May 27. 2010 4.06 pm

    you’re such a genius…making your own ice cream…you definitely showed that little boy, lol.

    watermelon is my absolute fave during the summer. last year we had one every week and they werent small dinky ones…no maam we’re talking 10+ pounders…and when i got back to working @ the farmers marker during the weekend, my habit got worse…hey thats what happens when you get free produce :)

  4. May 27. 2010 5.36 pm

    My hubby is in NY and said the temps were ridiculous! Funny that NYC is so warm and it rained in LA this morning. Bizarre!

  5. May 27. 2010 7.39 pm

    Thank goodness for the rain tonight, right!

    You should try those mini watermelons, much easier to bring home!

    Um… chocolate heaven. Wow! That looks unreal!

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 27. 2010 8.55 pm

    I love frozen fruit in the hot weather; your blend looks so smooth and creamy!
    Katherine

  7. Jil @ Peace, Love & Munchies permalink
    May 27. 2010 9.25 pm

    That smoothie sounds awesome – I never think to use cherries…adding to list!! :) And seriously that frozen chocolate goodness looks to.die.for!!!

  8. May 27. 2010 10.07 pm

    I hear ya! My coconut oil is liquid right now too. Makes me nervous to pack it for my move, heh… But hey, all the easier to work with, eh? Your frozen blended concoctions are lookin mighty good – I will pray for the high-speed blender fairy to pay you a visit (and I will also pray for your bank account, as a back-up plan).

  9. May 27. 2010 11.05 pm

    It is so hot in Toronto right now too! I’ve definitely been going the banana soft serve route…I love it. I think that is one of my favourite cool-off treats. I also love frozen fruit…frozen mangos or blueberries or anything really…you just suck on them like a popsicle, its delicious. I once tried So Delicious Coconut milk ice cream in chocolate chip cookie dough..it was too good for words. The coconut milk makes it really sweet and creamy, I think its so much better than any of the frozen soy desserts. Having said that, I don’t have any of the store bought things very often. Frozen fruit will always be my number one.

  10. May 28. 2010 2.34 am

    That is hella impressive about your watermelon feat. Wow. I don’t even think I could eat a whole watermelon today.

    Oh wait, I totally could. Definitely my favorite fruit!

  11. May 28. 2010 11.44 am

    That smoothie and that softserve sound totally delicious! I’ll be trying them out soon! Since I discovered the wonder that is frozen banana I love it so much in a big smoothie when we have hot weather (which isn’t often in the UK unfortunately!) x

  12. May 28. 2010 11.54 pm

    Dont move to AZ….your coconut oil will be liquid 11 mos a year. Not that that’s a bad thing but I actually like it solid sometimes.
    Good thing i am moving outta this hot hole in a week!

    Thanks for the recipe linkage and glad you are enjoying the choc. looks GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

