Skip to content

Hot Hummus

May 6. 2010

Oh, oh, oh.  I am positively blown away by the feedback on my last post!  I was honestly a little nervous about posting it because I wasn’t sure how accessible my proasic musings on light and darkness would be, but I’m so glad to know it resonated with so many of you.  This is precisely what I am trying to achieve – I want anyone out there to know that it’s okay to have that darkness within them, but that it’s possible to balance the darkness and the light within.  And I want anyone out there who has felt alone because of their hidden pain is not alone.

From the bottom of my heart, truly, thank you all.  But, well, I can’t promise every single post is going to be so thought provoking.  Because, well, I like food too.  And fun.  And fashion.  And Lady Gaga.  And because this is my blog and I’ll make what I want of it :)  So let’s talk some food for now!

Are you surprised that Hottie likes hot hot food?  Back in the day, I used to not be able to tolerate even the slightest bit of spice – even paprika would set my mouth ablaze.  But then, last summer, my best friend and I spent seven weeks of Thailand, where our palates adjusted to the DEATHLY HOT THAI CHILI.  By the time we came home, I couldn’t taste anything unless it burned my tongue off first.

Yesterday, I had a craving for two things: spicy food, and hummus.  But I have to admit, I really can’t bring myself to buy hummus unless I’m in a crunch, or having people over.  So I opened up the cabinet, lo and behold, to find a can of chick peas waiting there for me (because, you know, some magical fairy stocks my cabinets) to pulverize it into some delicious hummus.  Yes I used canned.  I’m too impulsive to bother with soaking the chick peas from scratch usually.

But then I discovered a problem!  I’d used up the last of my tahini, a classic component to the basic hummus recipe.  Well, no problem.  I remember Gena posting about a digestive-friendly hummus made without tahini.  As a Middle Eastern girl, I’d originally considered making hummus without tehina to be complete blasphemy, but by the time I tasted this recipe, I was singing a different tune.  This recipe is incredibly creamy and delicious, if a little non-traditional.  If you want to use tahini, simply replace the chick pea liquid used in this recipe with tahini, about 3 tablespoons.  I prefer a bigger kick of spice, so I used two jalapenos, but if you’re afraid of it being too spicy, feel free to stick to one, or even half of one.  Additionally, I omitted garlic and salt from this recipe, as per personal preference, but if you are a garlic fan, feel free to toss in a clove or two, and a pinch of salt to taste.


Hottie’s Jalapeno Hummus

  • 1 15oz can of chickpeas, drained, liquid reserved
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1-2 jalapenos, seeded and ribbed
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika

In a food processor or blender, combine chick peas, 2 tbsp reserved chick pea liquid, lemon juice, 1 Tbsp olive oil, jalapeno, cumin, and paprika.  Pulse to combine.  Then, with the motor running, slowly drizzle in remaining olive oil until the hummus comes to a very smooth consistency.  Place in an airtight container and set in the refrigerator to chill for at least a half hour before serving (the longer, the better, because it gives a chance for all the flavors to meld together).  Store any uneaten hummus in your refrigerator in an airtight container for up to a week.

So far, it’s been awesome on top of salads, like this one with spinach, romaine, carrots, a huge blob of hummus, lemon juice, and homemade baked hummus chips (recipe to come)!

Hummus is one of my favorite things to make at home, and one of the first things I learned to make.  When I finally had a kitchen all to myself, I was sitting in my kitchen one afternoon wanting to make something but not knowing what.  Then I flipped open Veganomicon.  When I came to the hummus recipe, I realized I had all the ingredients and decided to make it.  It was quite an empowering moment for me – making something I’d bought processed for many years, realizing how simple it was to customize it for my needs.  Every time I make hummus, I remember that moment and smile.  What is the first recipe you remember making at home on your own?

and

What’s your favorite thing to make at home? I’m a huge fan of home-made desserts – most of my time spent in the kitchen is spent baking, not cooking.  Even if I won’t eat them, I absolutely love making pastries with plain ol’ white all purpose flour and white sugar and butter and give them away to people.  It makes me so happy!

Have a wonderful day, everybody!  Tonight I am (SOOOOOO EXCITED) going to meet one of my favorite authors, Chuck Palahniuk!  Details to come!

PS- not that it really matters but I’m soooo excited that Happy Healthy Hottie hit 1000 views today, exactly one week after its launch! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6. 2010 4.35 pm

    My most favorite thing to make at home are baked desserts. I can control all the ingredients! And there is nothing like a hot cookie or muffin right out of the oven.

    I just read your last post as well and I kind of know what you are saying when you just “seem to be.” I remember after having Maya everyone wanted to diagnose me with postpartum depression and I said no, I am not depressed, I am just trying to get through this by being. I wasn’t living, I was just existing until I got to a point where I could handle the whole motherhood thing. I am still struggling for sure but I am in a better place at least! Nothing was harder than the first year of motherhood. Nothing!!

  2. julie permalink
    May 6. 2010 8.00 pm

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your honesty. I am a junior in college suffereing with severe depression and it’s awful. It’s like jekyl and hyde. i become a TOTALLY diff/awful person. But, like you, I am trying to heal with nourishing food and exercise. And get my hot bod back, which i lost with my mental issues haha

  3. May 6. 2010 9.57 pm

    Love that you got 1000 views! And that the hummus looks hot, sassy, and perfect…just like you :)
    xo

  4. May 6. 2010 10.01 pm

    First recipe that I remember making on my own: marble swirl pound cake. By the, well, pound. :p I also love baking; I don’t care if anyone actually eats it, but I find the process so therapeutic.
    <3 <3

    • May 6. 2010 11.52 pm

      me too! i bake from stress, anxiety, procrastination…and then I always feel better!

  5. May 7. 2010 8.08 am

    I loveeee me some spicy food too, even though I hated it as a kid! My only issue with it now is that it always drives the skin around my mouth NUTS, so I need to have chapstick haha :) My favorite thing to make at home is any kind of baked good for sure. Baking always helps me to decompress for some reason!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

